one woman's journey to wholeness…

Winter 2015…

Hutchinson River; Long Island Sound, NYC; Photo by Toni Roberts

Hutchinson River; Long Island Sound, NYC; Photo by Toni Roberts

season of much learning

as I spend the

below 0 degrees

days

at my window altar

pondering

ruminating

gazing out upon my

river

now buried below

huge beds of ice

both it…my river

and

I

enduring

winter 2015

one of the coldest

in the history of this

wonderful

city

of

my

birth

Hutchinson River; Long Island Sound, NYC; Photo  by Toni Roberts

Hutchinson River; Long Island Sound, NYC; Photo
by Toni Roberts

long hours beholding the beauty of my

wintered river

a beauty so different from

the lushness of summer

and bodacious riotousness of fall

digging

digging

deep below the frozen tundra of

my inner iciness

to the stuff kept hidden

by a heart

that would not

feel

Hutchinson River; Long Island Sound, NYC; Photo by Toni Roberts

Hutchinson River; Long Island Sound, NYC; Photo
by Toni Roberts

time

isolation

permitting me to bore deeply

into the frozen corners

of my heart

winter of excavating the

icy caverns

of my soul

diving deeply

below the surface

of my life

seeing

the self-deceptions

not visible

in summer’s light

or in the dusk of

fall

now laid bare

in the cold

dark

icy

sub-waters

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

